Verrocchio Center

26. April 2022.

Wednesday, November 15th 2017

As an associate member of CERN, Serbia is set to establish a center which brings together sophisticated, innovative industry, exceptional scientific research and education, on the campus of the Institute of Physics in Belgrade.

The contract for establishing the Verrocchio Center at the Institute of Physics was signed today in Belgrade, at the Palace of Serbia, as one of seven priority government projects in the field of science and technological development. Verrocchio Center is a product of collaboration with leading global institutions and strategic partners of the Institute of Physics – The European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN), Italy’s National Institute for Nuclear Physics (INFN) and DESY, the largest scientific facility in Germany.

Through collaboration with CERN and other European partners, Verrocchio will help connect existing knowledge in areas like the development of next-generation accelerators and detectors, modeling complex systems, supercomputing, analysis of large data clusters, as well as overcome crucial challenges in the fields of biomedical research, archeology and sociology. The new scientific, educational and innovative environment will work closely with the growing IT sector in Serbia.

“Verrocchio Center will positively affect our academic capital”, says the Director of the Institute of Physics in Belgrade, Aleksandar Bogojević, adding that the project will improve and deepen Serbia’s economic, scientific, educational and cultural ties with partners across Europe.

The new center got the name Verrocchio from the Italian Renaissance sculptor and painter Andrea del Verrocchio (1435-1488), whose workshop was the place of training for several of Renaissance’s greatest artists, including Leonardo da Vinci.

In the presence of Ana Brnabić, Prime Minister of Serbia, The Implementation and Co-financing Contract of the Verrocchio Project was signed by:

  • Mladen Šarčević, Minister of education, science and technological development
  • Nenad Popović, Minister without portfolio in charge of innovation and technological development
  • Marko Blagojević, Director of the Public Investment Management Office
  • Aleksandar Bogojević, Director of the Institute of Physics