The “Marko Jaric” awarding ceremony

19. March 2023.

On Friday, March 17, the Institute of Physics Belgrade organized the prestigious “Marko Jarić” prize awarding ceremony at the Grand Hall of the Serbian Academy of Science and Arts (SANU). The “Prof. Dr. Marko V. Jaric” Foundation has been awarding this prestigious award for exceptional results in physics for 25 years.

The Foundation awarded Dr. Milorad Milošević, full professor at the University of Antwerp in Belgium, the “Marko Jarić” award for 2022.

Academician Zoran Popović, vice president of SANU, greeted the guests on behalf of the host during the ceremony organized by the Institute of Physics, the financial supporter of the award.

Dr. Marina Soković from the Ministry of Science, Technological Development and Innovation, addressed and greeted the attendants, and expressed the Ministry’s support for the tradition represented by this award.

Prof. Dr. Petar Adžić, the Foundation manager, gave an overview of the physicist Marko Jarić’s life and work. Following, Dr. Aleksandar Belić, president of the Foundation’s Board of Directors, greeted the attendants and explained the awarding procedure and why this award is considered the “Serbian Nobel for Physics”.

Prof. Dr. Milan Tadić, this year’s award jury president, presented the laureate’s biography and the reasons beyond the jury’s decision to award him the „Marko Jarić“ award for 2022.

Dr. Aleksandar Bogojević, director of the Institute of Physics, presented the award to the laureate and reminded the attendances why such a “guild” award is important for fostering excellence in physics and its social relevance.

The award consists of a diploma and a cash prize. Dr. Milorad Milošević, this year’s laureate, announced that he will donate the financial part of the award to the fund for talented students of Smederevo, his hometown.

The laureate gave a popular lecture after receiving the award, according to tradition – Milošević presented the audience not only with his results but also with the broader context of physical research into superconductivity in a very interesting review.

The host of the awarding ceremony was Slobodan Bubnjević.